SUP Training: 60 minute workout

SUP Training

Here is the 60 minute paddle I went for today as part of my Riding Bumps SUP training program.  Still in week 1 so today was a longer paddle session at an easy pace on my 11′ Slingshot Crossfire.  Here is the breakdown for the 60 minute paddle, make sure to focus on technique on an easy session like this:

60 minute mellow paddle session:

  • 10 minutes slow warm-upWorkout of the day 1
  • 30 minutes paddling with heart rate between 55% MHR and 71% MHRI did the first mile around mid 60% then slowly started to up my pace until I was closer to 71%
  • 15 minutes 71-90% MHR
    • After this, I turned off the GPS since I hit the distance I was aiming for and worked on some drills
  • 5 minutes cool down with some slower paddling around 55-60% and practice some buoy turns.

This was my workout today.  Afterwards, spent about 10 minutes stretching and swimming around to cool down some more before grabbing a protein shake and some water.

Calories burned on the app wasn’t really accurate since my heart rate monitor isn’t connected to it.  My Polar watch said I burned about 600 calories in an hour and my average heart rate was 75% of MHR.

Give this workout a try and for more SUP training ideas check out the Riding Bumps programs.

I also tried out a new protein shake and pre-workout today made by SFH.  I took their Push pre-workout about 20 minutes before training and the Recovery protein shake mixed with milk immediately after.

The pre-workout gave me a really study flow of energy that I liked but wasn’t too crazy about the taste.  Had to down it quick.  Recovery actually tasted pretty good mixed with milk and I love that it comes from grass fed, free range cows.  I will let you know what I think about the stuff after trying it for a few more weeks.

Click here to check out all their products and learn more

SFH Recovery and Push

Leave a comment